That One Open Door

When all doors close and feels like we lost everything, all we need is few moments to ourselves- to relfect and find that one open door, thats still there for us. Just walk through that and we will see a new world waiting for us- yet again and again and again!! I came across this one article about legendary Amitab Bachan and his infamous dark phase after a 44 yrs successful career, when he lost everything and was left with 90 crores (900 million rupees) in debt. That made me recall of famous people that stood tall, giving us those life goals to never lose hope, and one not so famous but my personal favorite- my mom- who personally stood by example when she hit a dark moment in 2015.

IF YOU LEAVE | It's All in Finding the Right Words
Credit: Google Images

When any Indian thinks of Bollywood and Legends, one name that comes to every one’s mind is Amitab Bachan. And one example we all know, when one speaks of voice and diction is yet again Amitabji. Growing up, I heard his stories and how he was rejected from being given any roles- citing his voice and his lean but tall figure as drawbacks. But we all now know the value of his voice. And then, I remember this ‘ABCL closure, and Amitabji is done‘ kind of news from 90’s. For all I know now, he is still there, still our Big B and I am sure even the Gen Z kids in India know him. But what they dont know is how he failed and found that one door to his current and never ending success that the media famously calls as his second innings. When he found that one door, he did not hesitate to walk through that and ask for help. Rest is history.


Then there is this guy from South- Jagapathi Babu, son of a famous producer who went on to become the hero. I remember watching his first movie. Dont know why- I just liked him. His eyes stood out for me but thats about it. I have never paid a particular attention to his life before except that I loved some of his classics from 1st innings- Gayam & Antahpuram. Then his adjustment to changes and trying even more versatile and negative characters caught the attention of many people like me. But its only when he mentioned in many interviews about his hardships & 2nd innings, at one particular time, did I start observing him and respecting him even more. Yet again, he is someone who dared to walk through that one door and without sticking to his ‘hero’ image.

Last but not the least, my mother. Thats another story to post, more personal and emotionally daunting, that I need more time to write and reflect upon. Important fact is that she too found her door after going through dark moments, but giving herself time to pause and reflect.

Many of us heard this hundreds of times: when life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But how many actually do make lemonade? Just dont quit in any way! There are people willing to help. We just need a moment for ourselves to calmly think who those people are and reach out to right one. And we can see a beautiful world waiting for us making us wonder when world turned out to be so beautiful, not realizing that its our changed perspectives that made the world look beautiful than it was, before we found and walked through that one door.

PS: This is purely a personal reflection from situations in my life and my surroundings. Not counselling in any anymeans and not supported by any research.

Author: Kiranmai Yarlagadda

Leave a comment